Harmsworth Trophy makes comeback

Cowes-Torquay - 9 July 2010 -- The British Powerboat Racing Club (BPRC) has announced that the Harmsworth Trophy, one of the most prestigious prizes in world motorsport, will be awarded at this year’s British Powerboat Festival to the boat recording the fastest average speeds in the UIM BPRC Marathon World Cup events, Cowes 100 and the Cowes-Torquay-Cowes.

Alongside his notable success in the Cowes-Torquay-Cowes event, Hannes Bohinc is one of only 10 powerboat drivers to have won the Harmsworth Trophy on more than one occasion.

He first achieved feat in 1995, arguably his most successful year in powerboating. The four-engined Admiral Casino Tivoli of Class Prototypes 2 proved too much to cope with for the opposition as ‘Mister Endurance’ left the field behind.

His second success came as the trophy celebrated its centenary, having been founded by Alfred Charles William Harmsworth – a British newspaper and publishing magnate – in 1903.

100 years on, the Centenary British International Harmsworth Trophy was decided by the Needles Trophy from the Royal Motor Yacht Club in Poole as well as the Round the Island race (two laps) and Cowes-Torquay-Cowes.


09Jul10 01

Bohinc – alongside his crew of Italian Anselmo Mauri and English racers Miles Jennings and Ed Williams-Hawkes – took the chequered flag in all three heats to secure a dominant victory.

The Austrian entrepreneur still vividly recalls the events that led to his 1995 and 2003 successes in a competition he holds in the highest regard.

“The memories of competing in and winning The Harmsworth Trophy remain very special to me whenever I reflect on my days on the powerboating circuit.” he explains.

“Britain is one of the best places in the World to race, the history of the classic endurance events have played a very important role in forming the powerboat racing we know and love today.”